2015 COTY Finalists Announced

2015 COTY Finalists Announced

The 2015 Wesbank/SAGMJ (South African Guild of Motoring Journalists) Car of the Year finalists were announced today at a media gathering reveal in Johannesburg. Following votes cast by a 29-member jury – which the Ignition Live team is part of – 11 models made the cut from a list of 40 semi-finalists.

2015 COTY - Ignition Live

These finalists comprise of, in alphabetical order, the Audi A3 sedan 1.4T SE S-tronic, BMW M4 M-DCT, Citroen C4 Picasso e-HDi, the Honda Accord 3.5 V6 Exclusive, Lexus ES 250 EX, Mercedes-Benz C-Class C200 automatic, Nissan Qashqai 1.6dCi Acenta automatic, Porsche Macan S Diesel, Renault Duster 1.5 dCi Dynamique AWD, Subaru WRX Premium, Toyota Corolla 1.4 D-4D Prestige.

It must be mentioned though that, once again, the list of these finalists took some doing to conclude and there were many a great car launched in the past twelve months and whittling it down to just eleven vehicles was no mean feat. Each of the finalists will in early March 2015, over two days, be subjected to rigorous evaluations, which will include driving assessments at the world-renowned Gerotek facility near Pretoria.

The evaluation days will offer each jury member an opportunity to reacquaint themselves with the vehicles on specific aspects including aesthetics, build quality, ergonomics, fuel consumption, environmental friendliness, safety features, and value for money.

While all models amassed here can be deemed to represent examples of outstanding automotive engineering, there can only be one outright winner and, in this regard, the chosen model should epitomise all-round excellence. The winner of the competition will be announced at a gala banquet in Johannesburg on 18 March 2015.

Ignition Live Reporter