Dakar Rally: Stage Twelve Report

Dakar Rally: Stage Twelve Report

Argentine Orlando Terranova claimed his fourth stage win at the Dakar Rally on Friday and the 11th for the dominant Mini team, as Qatari Nasser Al-Attiyah closed in on a second overall title.

Terranova, 35, finished ahead of another Mini driven by Russian Vladimir Vasilyev and the Duster Renault of fellow Argentine Emiliano Spataro.

Al-Attiyah, winner in 2011, is almost certain of victory in the final stage on Saturday which finishes in Buenos Aires, as the 44-year-old Mini driver holds a lead of almost 36 minutes on South African Giniel de Villiers in a Toyota, which he extended by a further seven minutes on Friday.

In the motorbikes, Australian Toby Price rode his KTM to a dominant stage victory as Spaniard Marc Coma moved closer to a fifth title. oma played it safe over the 298km special between Termas de Rio Hondo and Rosario to finish sixth at 6min 25sec behind Price who had lead from start to finish.

Spaniard Joan Barreda Bort finished second at 1min 55sec with fellow Honda rider Paulo Goncalves of Portugal third at 3min 02sec. Goncalves, second in the overall standings, only took back 3min 23sec on Coma, with the Spaniard holding a comfortable 18-minute advantage going into Saturday’s final stage to Buenos-Aires. Price consolidated his overall third place, taking more than ten minutes on Chilean rival Pablo Quintanilla, who finished eighth.

Results after the Dakar Rally 12th stage on Friday, over 1024km from Termas de Rio Hondo to Rosario in Argentina with 298km timed:

1. Orlando Terranova/Bernardo Graue (ARG/ARG/Mini) 3hr 04min 06sec

2. Vladimir Vasilyev/Konstantin Zhiltsov (RUS/RUS/Mini) at 30sec

3. Emiliano Spataro/Benjamin Lozada (ARG/ARG/Renault) 1:29

4. Nasser Al-Attiyah/Matthieu Baumel (QAT/FRA/Mini) 1:37

5. Bernhard Ten Brinke/Tom Colsoul (NED/BEL/Toyota) 1:50

6. Carlos Sousa/Paulo Fiuza (POR/POR/Mitsubishi) 1:52

7. Stephane Peterhansel/Jean Paul Cottret (FRA/FRA/Peugeot) 4:04

8. Krzysztof Holowczyc/Xavier Panseri (POL/FRA/Mini) 4:39

9. Robby Gordon/Johnny Campbell (USA/USA/Gordini) 5:20

10. Aidyn Rakhimbayev/Anton Nikolaev (KAZ/RUS/Mini) 6:15

Overall standings:

1. Nasser Al-Attiyah/Matthieu Baumel (QAT/FRA/Mini) 40hr 18min 30sec (penalty: 2:00)

2. Giniel De Villiers/Dirk Von Zitzewitz (RSA/GER/Toyota) at 35min 39sec

3. Krzysztof Holowczyc/Xavier Panseri (POL/FRA/Mini) 1hr 31min 51sec

4. Erik Van Loon/Wouter Rosegaar (NED/NED/Mini) 3hr 01:34. (penalty: 40:00)

5. Vladimir Vasilyev/Konstantin Zhiltsov (RUS/RUS/Mini) 3hr 12:19

6. Christian Lavieille/Pascal Maimon (FRA/FRA/Toyota) 3hr 15:16

7. Bernhard Ten Brinke/Tom Colsoul (NED/BEL/Toyota) 3hr 41:53

8. Carlos Sousa/Paulo Fiuza (POR/POR/Mitsubishi) 3hr 44:35. (penality: 40:00)

9. Aidyn Rakhimbayev/Anton Nikolaev (KAZ/RUS/Mini) 4hr 07:47 (penalty: 30)

10. Ronan Chabot/Gilles Pillot (FRA/FRA/Smg) 4hr 41:37


1. Toby Price (AUS/Ktm) 3hr 19:04

2. Joan Barreda Bort (ESP/Honda) 1:55

3. Paulo Goncalves (POR/Honda) 3:02

4. Ivan Jakes (SVK/Ktm) 3:08

5. Stefan Svitko (SVK/Ktm) 5:01

6. Marc Coma (ESP/Ktm) 6:25

7. Helder Rodrigues (POR/Honda) 8:40

8. Pablo Quintanilla (CHI/Ktm) 10:07

9. Frans Verhoeven (NED/Yamaha) 10:51

10. Laia Sanz Pla-Giribert (ESP/Honda) 12:42

Overall standings:

1. Marc Coma (ESP/Ktm) 45h 08:32

2. Paulo Goncalves (POR/Honda) 17:49. (penalty: 16:00)

3. Toby Price (AUS/Ktm) 25:18

4. Pablo Quintanilla (CHI/Ktm) 36:57

5. Stefan Svitko (SVK/Ktm) 46:43

6. Ruben Faria (POR/Ktm) 1 h 50:39. (penalty: 40:00)

7. David Casteu (FRA/Ktm) 1hr 55:09

8. Laia Sanz Pla-Giribert (ESP/Honda) 2hr 19:37

9. Ivan Jakes (SVK/Ktm) 2hr 21:29

10. Olivier Pain (FRA/Yamaha) 3hr 04:21