Historic Tour thrills at Zwartkops Raceway

Historic Tour thrills at Zwartkops Raceway

High speed nostalgia returned to the Zwartkops Raceway near Pretoria in style, when the venue hosted the 2016 Historic Tour on Saturday (October 8).

Heading up proceedings were two races for Trans Africa Racing Pre-66 Le Mans sports and GT cars. With the Nucleus Supply Chevron B19 of Peter Jenkins stopping with electronic issues, both heats went to youngster Roman de Beer (Genie Lola T70). On both occasions, he was followed home by Jonathan du Toit  (TAR Chevron B8), and Peter Bailey (Porsche 917). David Hoal  (Chevron B61) and Mark du Toit (Lola T70 Spyder)  took turns in the fourth places, respectively.

The SKF Pre-66 Little Giants races provided intense competition, and extremely close racing at the front end. Chad ten Doeschate  (TAR GSM Dart) won the opening race, narrowly ahead of Marco Taylor (Alfa Romeo GT), Keith van Heerden (Jaguar D-Type) and Nick Parrott (MGB GT). The four cars crossed the finish line in the same second. Van Heerden retired the Jaguar with mechanical maladies in race two, while Ten Doeschate incurred a four-second penalty for a rule infringement. That left Taylor to win from Wayne Plitt (Mini Cooper S), Vic Campher (Campher Volvo P1800) and Parrott.

Both races for SKF Pre-66 Legend Production Cars were won by Ben Morgenrood (Ford Mustang) in the Champion of Champion class, leading home Jonathan du Toit (TAR Chev Camaro) and Mark du Toit (TAR Chev Camaro). Alan Poulter (SA Swiss Volvo 122) took the Under Two-litre category from Shane Baartman (Alfa Romeo GT) and Carel Pienaar (Lotus Cortina).

Historic Tour

Ian Schofield (Investchem Mygale) won the opening Investchem Formula Ford Kent race from Dean Venter (Turncab Royale) and Andrew Horne (Xena Chemicals Royale), with the cars covered by four-tenths of a second at the finish. Schofield repeated the performance the second time around, this time finishing ahead of Horne and Jeff Gable (Taylon Royale).

Veteran Willie Hepburn (AMTEC Opel Rekord V8) won both the Marlboro Crane Hire races for Pre-79 Saloon Cars from Phillip Pantazis (IMSA Datsun 260Z) and Anton Raaths (Mazda R100 Rotary).

Jeffrey Kruger (Lotus 7) won both the Sabat Lotus Challenge races from Rob Gearing (Birkin 7) and Jeff Gable (Taylon Birkin 7).

The Pre-86 Wings and Slicks heats brought out some historic single seaters. Neil Lobb (Chevron B34) won the first time from Peter Kernick (Maurer Formula Two) and AJ Kernick (Reynard F3). The next outing went to Peter Kernick, ahead of AJ Kernick and John McKercher (Modus Formula Atlantic).

Both the HRSA Handicap races went to Werner Hartzenberg (Porsche 928S). On the first occasion he led home Johan Swanepoel  (Fiat 124 Sport) and Rob van Aarle  (Ford Escort 1300). The second time, the runner-up places went to Machiel Oberholzer (Mercedes-Benz 190E) and Van Aarle.

The day ended with a one-hour Endurance race for sports and saloon cars. It went to Alex Gillespie in his ERP Trucking Chevron B19, followed by Sean Hewitt (Birkin S3) and Thomas Falkiner (Taylon Birkin 7). – André de Kock